pitbulls and other dogs.

I love dogs.  I basically love all kinds of dogs, though I admit I do have my favorites that I gravitate too. My childhood was filled with dogs of all kinds.  Rat Terriers, spaniels, collies, a German Shepherd and a passel of mongrels.  One of our neighbors had a Pit Bull chained to a dog house.  He was the sweetest dog (to me a five year old child).  I would go over and visit him, hiding in the house.  One day my Grandfather showed up and just about had a heart attack.  Evidently, my pal was a champion fighting dog.  I was not allowed to go there again, and finally, the dog disappeared.  I was told he was sold.  I dearly hope so.

Many dogs later, as a married adult, my husband and I got an American Staffordshire Terrier. They are the AKC version of a Pit Bull. Tiger, so named because she was a beautiful Red Brindle.  A lovelier, sweeter animal never existed, well until our little mouse, Bonnie showed up.  But I’m ahead of myself.  We did discover the drawback to these lovely dogs, they don’t usually live very long.  Tiger left us after a hard, short bout of intestinal cancer.  It was heartbreaking.

We were without a dog for years (7? I think) when our life changed.  My husband retired from the military and took a job away from home.  So I was actually alone 4 or 5 days a week, so I needed a dog.  I decided I wanted a Rat Terrier and was called by a friend about some puppies at a flea market.  Not Ratties, but Jack Russells.  So for $25.00 my first pup in over 10 years came home with me.  This was great. She was great.  Smart, quick, loving, and a homicidal maniac.  Yes, a hunter. No squirrel, lizard, mouse or snake survived her.

Then came Bonny.  A friend showed up at our front door with a tiny little golden pup.  She was the last of the litter to survive and needed special care. Hubby was smitten, though I was concerned that Racer would think she was rodent not canine.  But the six year old maiden dog took the mite and raised her as her own pup.  Bonny out grew her ‘mom’  but never challenged or even reacted to her little mama’s temper. She just rolled over and took her play and and her fiery temper. Yes, the Jack was much tougher than the Pit.

But it took that darling daughter to break her mother’s stalwart heart.  Bonny left us at only six years due to kidney failure. Race was devastated. Bonny passed at the vets and we didn’t bring the body home, something I regret bitterly.  Race looked and looked for her daughter, she tore up doors, pulled up carpets, and cried for her. I believe she actually had a stroke she was so upset.  I finally told hubby in no uncertain terms we needed a new dog.  He agreed but, to my surprise, he wanted another terrier. No more Pit Bulls.  They didn’t live long enough and we were getting to the point where a 60 pound dog could be a handful. So we agreed on another Jack Russell and got our Lil Abbott, a shorty Jack.

One thing about Jacks, they are tough little stinkers. For the fishermen out there, they are the black bass of the dog world.  I’ll explain that in yet another blog.

But here’s my final word on Pit Bulls.

Pit Bulls are athletes. They are tough, honest, loyal, loving, faithful and wonderful dogs. If there’s a but to them, it is they are too good for mankind.  A Pit Bull will do whatever you, their boss, will want them to do.  In our case, we wanted them to be loving lap dogs and they were. Some people want them to be their sport dogs, chasing frisbees, tennis balls and become agility dogs, some want them to be Search And Rescue dogs, drug dogs, what ever.  But the dark side of this is if you want them guard your stash of drugs, fight other dogs, be attack dogs or just be mean dogs they will excel in those things also.

Pit Bulls love their owners, even the evil ones, and ultimately those dogs are betrayed by human kind, specifically their masters. They are punished for being the very best at what they are asked to be, a mean dog.

I wish I had a cute quip to end this but I don’t.  I can only pity these dogs, dogs that give their all for human kind and are ultimately betrayed.  Now, all dogs are different.  There are dogs with issues certainly, poorly bred dogs are always around and aren’t the best representatives of their breed whatever it may be.

I love Pit Bulls.  They are probably the truest of the true and in some cases, the sadest of the sad.

Later, we’ll talk about Jack Russells and Rat Terriers.  But for now, I’ve said my piece.

Oh  and yeah  there are lots of dogs in my book too.  All kinds.

And if you want a dog, check with your local shelter, your vet, and of course Rescues.

Hug your dog tonight.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

